POTW :: poohinthiscorner

View in Flickr (see it LARGE)

View in Flickr (see it LARGE)

The last two weeks of blogging have been somewhat of a roller-coaster ride. Last week was really discouraging and frustrating, and this week has been really encouraging and interesting. Of course, how can you not be encouraged by reading about Bunyan and his exemplary life of faithfulness in spite of such hardship and trials? The Burma situation, though a terrible disaster, has opened my eyes to the influence and power of the internet today, especially in how such a medium can be used to spread the gospel. Furthermore, an old theological sparring partner, Dr. Terry Tiessen, and I have picked up where we left off on addressing the fate of the unevangelized. Dr. Tiessen is a Calvinist who argues against the exclusivist position (which I hold) and for what he calls accessibilism (which differentiates from evangelical inclusivism). This is a perennial issue that continues to be hotly debated from the halls of academia to the front porch of popular culture.

On Tuesday, we safely arrived back in Alabama where we have enjoyed some down time this week. I created a profile on a website called mapmyrun.com, and I am enjoying the ability to keep up with my cycling and training logs. Plans are today to do a 20 mile ride into the back roads of Alabama (this time with water bottles and a cell phone).

As you can see, Nolan is growing leaps and bounds. That Pooh robe was supposed to fit him, but it won’t even cover his diaper! Oh well. I mentioned recently about the offer on a house we made in Florida. We are still praying about this matter and hoping that things will go well. If you think about it, we would be grateful if you lifted this matter up in prayer on our behalf.

Speaking of moving, I have a favor to ask of any of you guys who might be in Louisville on Wednesday, May 21st. That is the day I am loading the trailer, and I am needing the help of some guys who wouldn’t mind suffering for a while to help me load the truck. Any takers? Lunch will be on me. If you would like to help, email me at outpostministries@yahoo.com, and I will give you directions and details (one detail I should tell you now is that I live on the third floor – meaning three flights of stairs to carry stuff, including lots of books). I’ve got a few signed up to suffer with me, but a couple more guys would be a great help indeed.

In the upcoming days, I hope to write a little more on Bunyan, church membership, and evangelism/missional lifestyle. Have a great weekend everyone!

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Photography, POTW

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “POTW :: poohinthiscorner”

  1. becca Says:

    oh wow Nolan’s HUGE!!!! can’t wait to have yall down here- i’m getting so excited. now if you delayed that move a few days, i’d be there to help. esp for the free food. 😉 but as it is, we won’t be rollin into L-ville until friday night. i think i’ll steal your phone number from my dad so we can call yall on our way up and honk when we pass on the highway.
    praying for your house offer, and for you and Dusti and Nolan as yall get ready to head on down!
    _becca


  2. Yeah, he’s a biggun’. 🙂

    Less than two weeks, we will be down there in the thumbnail of America! My guess is that we will pass each other sometime Friday morning, probably around the GA-FL state line. But I have never done this drive before, so who knows?

    Feel free to call anytime, and thank you for praying for us!


  3. Sure, I’ll help. I need exercise anyway. Plus my little Grace thinks Nolan is cute and wants to meet him, and I need to have a man-to-man talk with him. Look for my email, bro!

  4. Tyler Smith Says:

    Hey Timmy,

    I hope things are going well for you down in the best state in America (Alabama… for those of you who were wondering). I would love to help you and Dusti out, but unfortunately I will still be out of town marrying my brother to his fiance (I have to be careful how I say “marrying my brother”… haha). I wish that I was going to be back in town, but unfortunately you can only be in one place at a time. Anyway, I also thoroughly enjoyed our lunch the other day; it was great to get to spend some time with you. Well, your house situation is in my prayers, and I hope that you enjoy your time back at home and that all the moving and transitioning goes smoothly. I can’t wait to hear what God does through you and your family down in Florida.

    Blessing to you brother,

    Tyler


  5. Timmy,

    Could you e-mail me when it’s convenient. I have a question if you get a chance.


  6. I just noticed your request for help. Sorry. I would have loved a chance to help and an excuse to meet up with you.

    Bradley


Leave a Reply

