Together for Glory 1: Father in Relation to the Son

For the past couple of months, I have been slowly working through and meditating on a Trinitarian study that was spawned off three things: first, a post I wrote regarding intentional evangelism; second, reflections on the covenant of redemption as understood by the Puritans; and third, the upcoming John 3:16 conference which will attempt to address the doctrines of grace (TULIP). One of the major difficulties I find from soteriological convictions/frameworks that do not subscribe to the doctrines of grace is that they do not account for the trinitarian nature of our salvation. The beauty of John 3:16 is that it is nestled a book which provides for the context–context which, as I have found, makes at least 110 Trinitarian propositions.

In this post, I would simply like to list eleven of these propositions with their texts that specifically relate to the Father’s relationship to the Son in a completed (past) work. In my next post in this series, I will provide eleven more propositions of the Father’s relationship to the Son in an ongoing manner.

11 Trinitarian Propositions from the Gospel of John Regarding the Father’s Relationship to the Son, Past Tense

1. The Father has sent the Son into the world [3:16; 5:36; 6:57; 10:36]

John 3:16
16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.

John 5:36
36 But the testimony that I have is greater than that of John. For the works that the Father has given me to accomplish, the very works that I am doing, bear witness about me that the Father has sent me.

John 6:57
57 As the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so whoever feeds on me, he also will live because of me.

John 10:36
36 do you say of him whom the Father consecrated and sent into the world, ‘You are blaspheming,’ because I said, ‘I am the Son of God’?

2. The Father has given the Son all things into his hands [3:35; 13:3]

John 3:35
35 The Father loves the Son and has given all things into his hand.

John 13:3
3 Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands, and that he had come from God and was going back to God,

3. The Father has given the Son the works to accomplish [5:36]

John 5:36
36 But the testimony that I have is greater than that of John. For the works that the Father has given me to accomplish, the very works that I am doing, bear witness about me that the Father has sent me.

4. The Father has given the Son the commandment, of what to say and speak [12:49]

John 12:49
49 For I have not spoken on my own authority, but the Father who sent me has himself given me a commandment—what to say and what to speak.

5. The Father has given to the Son all that would come to him [6:37; 6:40; 10:29; 17:11; 17:24]

John 6:37
37 All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out.

John 6:40
40 For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”

John 10:29
29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.

John 17:11
11 And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one.

John 17:24
24 Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world.

6. The Father has given the charge of the Son laying down his life and taking it up again [10:18]

John 10:18
18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This charge I have received from my Father.”

7. The Father has given the Son the bitter cup of his death on the cross [18:11]

John 18:11
11 So Jesus said to Peter, “Put your sword into its sheath; shall I not drink the cup that the Father has given me?”

8. The Father has borne witness about the Son [5:37; 8:18]

John 5:37
37 And the Father who sent me has himself borne witness about me. His voice you have never heard, his form you have never seen,

John 8:18
18 I am the one who bears witness about myself, and the Father who sent me bears witness about me.”

9. The Father has set his seal upon the Son [6:27]

John 6:27
27 Do not labor for the food that perishes, but for the food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give to you. For on him God the Father has set his seal.”

10. The Father has willed that everyone who looks on the Son and believes should have eternal life [6:40]

John 6:40
40 For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”

11. The Father has glorified his name and will glorify it again [12:28]

John 12:28
28 Father, glorify your name.” Then a voice came from heaven: “I have glorified it, and I will glorify it again.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Trinity

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Together for Glory 1: Father in Relation to the Son”


  1. Hi Timmy,

    A very interesting survey of John’s Gospel. I’m currently writing my Masters thesis on ‘Father Language in John’, and am finding it to be pretty compelling stuff. Kostenberger and Swain have just published a study entitled ‘Father, Son and Spirit: The Trinity and John’s Gospel’ (IVP), which is a rich blessing. They take a biblical theology approach.

    God bless,
    Andrew


  2. Andrew,

    I am encouraged to hear of your studies in John. When you have completed your thesis, I would love to take a look at it. I have been looking forward to Kostenberger’s work to come out. The cool thing is that I first heard about this book a week into my study, so I am eager to see the direction and discourse he took in it.


  3. Hi Timmy,

    Just as a follow up to my comment on your survey of John’s Gospel, I ‘ve recently posted some material regarding the way in which academic feminism approaches the abundance of ‘Father-language’ in John, which might be interesting to you.

    God bless,
    Andrew


  4. Thanks Andrew. I look forward to reading your article.


Leave a Reply

