POTW :: faithfulness

View in Flickr (see it LARGE)

I have been asked by a teenager in our church who is entering a photo contest to help her with ideas for the theme of “faithfulness.” It just so happened that, while driving down the coastline of St. Petersburg Monday evening, I took this picture. Three aspects of faithfulness I find here: the setting of the sun, the ebb and flow of the tides, and man’s best friend (no, not my dog). It was good to get out for a little photo excursion this week as I have not been able to do that for a while. A couple of photog tips for anyone interested in shooting the sun:

1. Always underexpose when shooting directly in the sun. It will keep from getting the “bulb” look on the sun and bring out the sky and clouds as well.

2. If possible, use a polarizing filter, especially when taking pictures of the sun with water around. You can opt for darker hues or a nice reflection.

3. Set your aperture to f/10 or higher. Opening up your aperture too much will cause you to loose some of the sharpness of the sky, and with the available light, opening the aperture more than f/10 is not needed (nor the depth of field).

I am amazed by the sheer number of people who have read and more importantly considered my challenge to Scripture memory. Tomorrow, I will try to post some pics of my “memory moleskine” to see what it looks like. The ESV blog picked it up earlier this week which I think helped get the word out. In all, over a dozen websites have plugged it with over 1,000 tuning in. What excites me about this is that such a thing as this is what I hope and pray the Lord will allow me to continue to do–encourage and provoke Christians to faithfulness to Christ, His gospel, His mission, and His Word.

This Sunday evening I will be finishing up my message on “Remember Jesus Christ” focusing on the second part of the passage (2 Tim. 2:9-10). I will also be teaching on missional life in the community.

Oh, and in case you didn’t catch it on my Twitter, I am going Mac this next week. I am considering a conference on Building Bridges: Macs and PCs Together for the Gospel. I hear that Mac users are always demanding a seat at the table, and the PC users are being very anti-ecumenical (you know, the PC guys are fighting for true Computer Identity (CI). I know such a conference would be almost impossible to pull off, but I figured that every computer has a story–and I want to make sure they get a hearing. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Photography, POTW, Scripture Memory

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “POTW :: faithfulness”


  1. Now, Timmy, surely you know that Macs are worse than Muslims?

    0:)


  2. Ha! I am just going to be careful not to engage in the cage stage of a newbie Mac user. I think the occasional frustration of my co-laborers with help keep me calm (I am currently the only non Mac user in the church).

    So this Ahmedinejad look a like with a Mac will make me really scary, no?

  3. Brent Hobbs Says:

    With your photography interest, I’m surprised its taken this long. Glad you decided to leave the dark side and join us Mac users…. Mauh ha ha! But more seriously, check macrumors.com and their forums in particular if you ever need any help with the transition. I’m sure you’ll have plenty of help there at church but I’ve found many answers there. And thanks for the photography tips. Me and my wife are thinking about getting a DSLR since she’s pregnant and I’ll be new to playing with camera settings.


  4. Tim,

    Glad to hear you’re joining the ranks of the truly chosen. I would highly recommend becoming a member of CMUG (Christian Mac Users Group). I’ve been a Mac user since 1987 and would never willingly own a PC. I’ve been a member of CMUG for nearly 10 years and have found there’s not a question this group can’t answer. There are pastors and missionaries and other Christians from all over the world who use Macs and help a brother or sister out as needed. Good stuff. So, buy away and enjoy.


Leave a Reply

