Memory Moleskine

I thought I’d post a few pictures of my “memory moleskine” to give a visual of what I mentioned earlier about using the Cashier Moleskine for Scripture memory.  After printing out the pages of Scriptures (which I sectioned off), I cut them to fit within the pages and pasted them onto the moleskin with double-sided tape.  All together, it took me less than an hour to create this little handy notebook in which I will record my review and reflections as well.

If anyone else is doing something like this, let me know, or if anyone else has a better (or more creative) way to practically memorize Scripture, please pass that along.

Below is my four cashier moleskines together: missional, memory, prayer, and GTD (getting things done).

Explore posts in the same categories: Resources, Scripture Memory

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

36 Comments on “Memory Moleskine”

  1. Ashley Says:

    I like that you have space for reflections on the scripture. I need to find a way to do that. I use a combination of 3 x 5 cards (each verse gets one – written out on one side with the scripture reference on the other) and a notebook with only the chapter/verse references for review. It would take to long to describe exactly what I do each day, but I don’t work too hard at actually memorizing the new verses – systematic reviewing works best for me (both individual verses randomly with the cards and also the entire chapters or passages out of the notebook) and engraves the scripture well into my memory over time. It’s only 10 or 15 minutes, and it’s my favorite time – reciting the scriptures is often pure prayer (especially the psalms :). But I think succesful memorization is like successful weight loss – what counts the most is that you keep trying until you find what method works best for you, and then make it a lifestyle.


  2. Thanks for sharing Ashley! I really appreciate what you said about reciting Scriptures as pure prayer. Certainly the more of God’s Word we have embedded in our minds and hearts the sweeter and powerful our praying will be. I also agree that it is important to be flexible to use whatever method works best to make it an integral part of one’s lifestyle

  3. Zach Says:

    I’ve always been really impressed with you. This is just one more thing. Thanks. I’m going to pattern my scripture memory after your method. Also, I keep a 3×5 card in my pocket with the first 2 words of each verse just to use during the day as a reference. Some of us aren’t in a position where we work indoors and this helps a ton. I really appreciate you.

    zach

  4. Yogi Taylor Says:

    You add new meaning to “cut & paste.” 🙂

    Yogi

  5. Curtis Says:

    I am working through 2 Corinthians 1-5 using much of your format (Memory Moleskine and all). Your post was a challenge for me.

    I would be glad to pass along the breakdown of verses that I am using.

    My covenant is to commit this portion of 2 Corinthians to memory by the end of 08.

  6. Matt Privett Says:

    Timmy,

    I love Moleskines! This is a great method and I’ve also officially adopted it, learning the book of James. You’re a great encouragement, brother!

  7. Jeff T Says:

    Timmy, Which size Moleskine do you use?

  8. Leslie Says:

    great idea!
    I’m going to start on this right when I get home!


  9. Zach,

    Always great to hear from you brother. I will never forget the D-NOW I first met you guys in Memphis some eight years ago. You all had those 3×5 note cards in your back pocket full of Scripture you all were memorizing. When people think of the Snowbird, I am sure a lot of things come to their mind, but a passion for memorizing the Word, that’s one that sticks out for me.


  10. Yogi,

    Well, of course. BTW, enjoyed your question on the Mohler show, John. 🙂

    Curtis,

    Thanks for sharing your commitment to memorizing Scripture. That is very encouraging!

    Matt,

    The book of James is a great choice. I am glad to know this method is helpful to you. May the Lord bless your memory and meditation on God’s Word!

    Jeff,

    The cashier-moleskine’s are 3 1/2 x 5 1/2 in. You can find more info or purchase them here.

    http://www.moleskineus.com/cahier-pocket-ruled.html

    Leslie,

    Wonderful! May the Lord speak volumes to your heart through His Word!

  11. John Says:

    hey tim,
    i’ve always enjoyed your blog – keep up the good work. last week i was mowing the lawn at the church i pastor. it takes a while (2 hours on a large mowing tractor set to ‘jack rabbit’!) so i usually take listen to something like a sermon or interview, etc. anyway, i happened to be listening to andy davis’ message from the founders conference and felt convicted to set an example for my congregation and begin memorizing scripture. low and behold i checked in at your blog today and found your moleskin project – what a practical encouragement! thanks for sharing your creativity. if you’re ever near bay city, mi i’d love to buy you lunch.

    blessings,
    john

    p.s. looking forward to hearing more about your ‘missional moleskin’!

  12. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen Says:

    I’m planning to use Microsoft Onenote in a tabular format which would allow me to run it on my computer as well as carrying a print version…


  13. […] Timmy Brister’s Memorization Moleskin (post 1, post 2) […]

  14. shannon Says:

    Tim,

    I seem to have this very vivid memory of you scoffing at a copy of GTD you found in my apartment a while back… Must of been someone else ;-).

  15. ginoc Says:

    Tim,

    Excellent! Thank you for sharing. This is quite helpful as a friend and I are working on memorizing Romans 8 this summer.

    Quick question: I know you’re really busy these days but if you get a chance, could you tell me more about your “Missional Moleskine”? Just curious as to how you are using that (perhaps I have missed a post somewhere else?).

    Grace and peace,
    Gino


  16. […] slightly to use on James: Ephesians, 2008, and a Memory Moleskine (Provocations & Pantings) Memory Moleskine (Provocations & Pantings) « When protesting goes too […]

  17. Revd Dr Who Says:

    Timmy, this is a great idea, which I might copy.

    …on a more worldly note, I wish my handwriting were has good as yours!


  18. […] all of Ephesians, formatted to cut out for a 3 by 5 booklet, like a pocket Moleskine. I’d follow the example of one very wise brother and on the left hand page, I would paste that week’s memory …. On the right hand page, I’d leave the top half of the page for marking down the number of times […]


  19. […] all of Ephesians, formatted to cut out for a 3 by 5 booklet, like a pocket Moleskine. I’d follow the example of one very wise brother and on the left hand page, I would paste that week’s memory …. On the right hand page, I’d leave the top half of the page for marking down the number of times […]

  20. Amber Says:

    Thanks. Ann Voskamp blogged about the Memory Moleskine and I just went to Borders to purchase my own set of 3×5 Moleskines. Going to make one for me and one for my boyfriend. We’ve been trying to find a way to be more purposeful in our Scripture reading. Great idea. Now if only every book of the Bible was available in that handy Ephesians format. 🙂 Bless you.


  21. I LOVE THIS!
    Thank you for sharing this great idea! Are you thinking about working on some other Bible books (to download)?

    Thanks again.


  22. […] the summer of 2008, I came up with the crazy idea called a “memory moleskine.”  The goal was to memorize the book of Ephesians before the end of the year.  Since then, […]


  23. […] the summer of 2008, I came up with the crazy idea called a “memory moleskine.” The goal was to memorize the book of Ephesians before the end of the year. Since then, that […]


  24. […] I say get a Moleskine Cahier journal and address both meditation and memorization. I came across this “Memory Moleskine” idea a couple of years ago. It is extremely useful if you are interested in memorizing an entire book. […]


  25. […] I picked this link up from Paul McCain’s blog – neat idea. […]


  26. […] the summer of 2008, I came up with the crazy idea called a “memory moleskine.”  The goal was to memorize the book of Ephesians before the end of the year.  Since then, […]


  27. Tim,
    I understand and love the memory moleskine idea,and I was looking to maybe use a similar system as yours, I understand the prayer one but could you expound on your GTD moleskine and Missional moleskine?

  28. Nathan Says:

    I just found this post even though it’s almost two years old it’s a great idea. I’m joining you in your Philippians study. I would love to hear more about your Missional Moleskin. What is in it? How do you use it?

  29. Keelee Says:

    Hi there. You mentioned that you have a prayer moleskine. Is there any way you could show us (me) a picture of the inside of that? I’ve been looking for a creative way to keep track of my prayers so I can see what He’s doing instead of just throwing up random prayers all the time to God.
    Thanks!


  30. […] all of Ephesians, formatted to cut out for a 3 by 5 booklet, like a pocket Moleskine. I’d follow the example of one very wise brother and on the left hand page, I would paste that week’s memory …. On the right hand page, I’d leave the top half of the page for marking down the number of times […]


  31. […] Ann V shares one thing of utmost importance to build your faith. Along with her post, an idea for memorizing scripture. […]


  32. Tim, I’m a minister preaching through a series I’m calling Tnel (Lent in Reverse) and instead of giving up things for Lent we are taking on a different Spiritual Discipline each week (chosen by the Elders and Deacons) and one of those is Scripture memory. I am going to challenge the church to memorize a book of the Bible, specifically Philippians using your method above, actually directing them to Partnering to Remember and Resurgence sites.

    WIth all that said, could you tell me about the other Moleskines? I’m interesting in the Getting Things Done Moleskine in particular, but would love to see how you use the Prayer and Missional Moleskines as well. Thanks!

    all about Christ,
    David


Leave a Reply

