You Said

This song always moves me–to sing of what God has said and hold fast to His promises with confidence in Christ to fulfill His purposes in bringing glory to Himself.

Explore posts in the same categories: worship

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “You Said”

  1. kim davidson Says:

    I love this song – and I love their version of it! 🙂 I first heard it at a missions conference in 2004 – amazing stuff!


  2. I have found this song to be a little misleading. When it says You said “Ask and I’ll give the nations to you” the only reference I have found to this is Psalm 2:7-9 where right after saying I will make the nations your heritage and the ends of the earth your possession. You shall break them with a rod of iron and dash them in pieces like a potter’s vessel. I have always took the song to be speaking of evangelism but this seems to be a little different I don’t have a problem with singing Psalms 2 it just seems it is out of context in this song. Am I off on this one?

  3. Keith Walters Says:

    Kenneth,
    The answer is yes and no. If you continue reading Psalm 2 the weight of the text falls on the mercy of this Sovereign Son who can shatter the nations and yet is merciful to bless those who take refuge in Him. As for the evangelistic aspect I think we have to understand this text speaking directly to a promise from the Father to the Son of an inheritance, namely men and women from every nation, and not evangelism directly. This text does have profound implications for evangelism. Ultimately, this text leads us to a reformed understanding of evangelism where the Father uses men to proclaim the gospel (Romans 10:9-17) and through this the Father calls men and women from among the nations (Matthew 6:44) and thus fulfills His promise to the Son (Revelation 7:9-10). I hope that helps.


Leave a Reply

