POTW: The County Fair

View in Flickr :: See it LARGE

View in Flickr :: See it LARGE

View in Flickr :: See it LARGE

View in Flickr :: See it LARGE

Some of you may be wondering why I have not done any picture of the week posts in the last couple of months.  A big reason for that is my dog jumped on my PC laptop and knocked it on the floor, damaging the screen.  I have no photo-editing software on the MAC, and I shoot all my images in RAW format. So anyway, a very generous couple from Grace gave us an external monitor which has allowed me to utilize my old PC and the software on it, hence the pictures above.

Speaking of these pictures, they are from this past Tuesday at the county fair here in Lee County.  Nolan is now 14 months old and walking like a wobly wild man.  Dusti is nearly 30 weeks in her pregnancy, and we still have not decided on a name for that boy.  The photographer in me wanted to take a monopod or tripod and spend a couple of hours doing long-exposure shots with all the motion and lighting, but alas, the daddy in me won out, resulting in watching pig races, petting billy goats, and riding the merry-go-round–all of which was quite fun I must say. The pictures of the lights above where my only takes at trying to capture long-exposure, attempting to use Nolan’s stroller as a “quadopod.”  Didn’t go too well. 😦

So yeah, today is March 6, and you know what that means? I am officially 19,951 days old.  Some of you may recognize that as being 30 years and 1 day old.  I woke up wondering if I had any gray hair or the need to see a chiropractor. So far so good. Before long, I might blend in with the folk at the SBC Annual Meeting. 🙂  By the way, any of you young chaps going?  I’m tempted to sport my Ahmedinejad look.  Still not sure though.

But today also marks the daily countdown to my first attempt at completing a triathlon which happens a week from tomorrow. That’s right. And you know what?  My training has been an epic FAIL.  But I’m going to try it anyway.  I still haven’t run once this year.  I’ve swam about five times, and rode a good bit.  Here’s to putting it all together and making it out alive!  I’m going to see if I can drag a couple of guys up to Orlando to live-tweet the excitement.

Ah, I miss these POTW posts.  There’s so much to say and so little space and time.  I’m hoping to transition to a new template and self-hosting on WordPress soon, so if you come here and everything looks different, you’ll know why.  I am also looking to post some thoughts on my life with Grace, especially given that this past week marked one year that I came down here in view of coming on staff with the church.  If you want to keep up with the boring details of my daily updates, go here.  At least you will see more pictures.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Photography, POTW

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “POTW: The County Fair”

  1. Mike Hess Says:

    Timmy,

    How long is your run for this triathlon? If you are a naturally good distance runner you should be okay but running long distances usually requires at least some moderate training. What are the other distances? Keep up the good work on the blog!

    Mike


  2. The race is 750m swim, 20km bike, and 5k run. The temperature looks like it is going to be in the 50’s, and I’m not going to get a wet suit. I’m may live to regret that!

    Here’s the website for the race:

    http://buttar.com/events/triathlon/WildmanTri/

  3. Jeremy Burrage Says:

    Timmy,
    Ok, so I just got a 30d. I love it and am learning a ton. I need some lens advice. I’ve got the standard 18/55 but can already tell I need another one soon. Any advice?

  4. Bart Barber Says:

    iPhoto 09 supports RAW. I think iPhoto 08 did, too.


  5. I have, I think, the old iPhoto, and I tried working with it a little bit but did not like it too much. I guess I’m too much of an Adobe guy. 🙂


  6. Jeremy,

    I *really* want to get the 50D. My old 20D is worn out and is barely working. Perhaps I should take up a love offering. 🙂

    Regarding lenses, it depends on your budget and what you want to do. I went with the 28-135 IS USM f/3.5-5.6 for the following reasons:

    1. It has image stabilization.
    2. It has macro shooting.
    3. It has both decent telephoto and wide-angle capabilities.
    4. It’s has the most affordable price tag for all the features.

    If you have more money available, I’d plan out a lens-buying scheme where you get the following three lenses:

    16-35mm f/2.8 IS USM
    50mm f/1.4
    70-200mm f/2.8 IS USM

    Long term, lenses last much longer than camera bodies, if you take care of them. These three lenses together is roughly around $3000, but if you want to go pro, those are the one’s I’d pick.

    Currently, I only have the 28-135 and the 85mm f/1.8 which I use for portraiture. Sigma has lenses that are comparable and are approximately 15-20% cheaper than Canon lens, although the glass quality is not quite as good.

    If you’ve got less than $500 to spend, I’d probably still recommend the 28-135 and then maybe encourage you to get the 50mm stock f/1.8 which is one of the more affordable lenses Canon carries.

    Hope that helps! I really would like to get back into photography more but unfortunately don’t have the time or the goods to upgrade/replace old equipment. 😦

  7. Jeremy Burrage Says:

    I’m just now getting into it and really more worried about chronicling our children’s lives than anything else. I’m not wanting to drop too much money until I spend some time learning the instrument. This helps a ton though!


Leave a Reply

