Don’t Buy into a Wasted Life

I first heard this sermon of Piper back in 2000, and it was sealed in my memory.  Then in 2007, I walked along the beaches where people’s lives are are summed up in a seashell collection. Although John Piper ruined my vacation, he was used by God to keep me from ruining my life with the American dream.  Today, I live in a city with idols on land and sea, full of wealthy people who have retired to enjoy the American Dream–a people on the verge of eternity sipping lemonade on their yacht without the slightest thought of being swallowed up in a grave no amount of riches can redeem save the blood of Jesus. I need to be reminded of what this video communicates that I should . . .

“[C]onduct yourselves with fear throughout the time of your exile, knowing that you were ransomed from the futile ways inherited from your forefathers, not with perishable things such as silver or gold, but with the precious blood of Christ, like that of a lamb without blemish or spot.”

– The Apostle Peter

Explore posts in the same categories: Personal Commentary

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Don’t Buy into a Wasted Life”

  1. ed elliott Says:

    This video shatters my wasted 57-year old frustrated life…it is REALLY painful.

  2. ed elliott Says:

    Oh,and BTW, word to the wise: RESIST the temptation to post when you have a REALLY Horrid day at a futile work place.


Leave a Reply

