Don’t Waste Your Tweets

Twitter is the fastest-growing media application in the world with a volume now greater than the New York Times.  With the increasing number of people joining Twitter, it is important that you stand out, and by that I mean making your Twitter updates worth reading, even if they are just a few sentences long.

Those who use the Tweetdeck know of the ability to place people in groups (e.g., I have “church planters” “triathletes” and “ministries/organizations” as groups).  The ironic thing about Twitter is that once you follow so many people, you actually end up not following hardly any of them at all.  Time does not permit you to spend hours scrolling up and down your stream to read what everyone has to say, especially if they are talking about matters that have little to no value.  Over a period of time where your updates are not valuable to those following you, they will then ignore you entirely because they have not come to expect anything worth reading, engaging, favoriting, or reteweeting.  One tweet wasted at a time, and your presence on Twitter becomes twasted.

I’m no social media expert and I have not polled an audience of Twittering giants on this subject matter, but I want to offer eight suggestions on the kind of tweets that add value and are worth reading:

Twitter Turn-On’s

(1) Links – if there are articles, media, or other resources you’d like to pass along, people will appreciate that. In fact, my twitter favorites has become the primary place where I develop my “quick hits” compilation of interesting stuff on the internet. To a degree, Twitter has replaced my Google Reader.

(2) Quotes – good, informative, encouraging, convicting quotes are always good to share. If you are reading a book, pass a great quote along. Or a passage from your study of Scripture.  But remember a quote is meant to stand out, and if it does say something, then it will be twasted.

(3) Questions – engage the Twitter community about things you’re working on or are important to you. Many if not most of the people who follow you do so because of a shared interest or common passion.  The discussion and conversations on Twitter can become very valuable to both/all parties involved.

(4) Pictures – pictures are hard not to click, especially if people know you and care about what you are doing.  A good photographer adds spice to a good tweep. Like quotes, however, your pics should show something in a way that people will want to look at future pics.

(5) Hobbies – when you are talking about your life, say something about a hobby or interest that others could relate.  You talk about what you are passionate about, so don’t keep your stream boring because you are afraid you might upset somebody and lose followers.  It’s all superficial anyway.

(6) Events – when you are at an event or meeting, share with others the people in your life and perhaps the topics that bring you together.  In the strange world of Twitter, you will be surprised at who you might have in common as friends or acquaintances.

(7) Humor – twitter is a great place to insert a little humor into people’s lives.  There are some guys who are great at this,  and there are others who probably try to hard.

(8) Encourage – be an encourager to others. Just like the real world, the Twitterverse has enough sour and bitter people in it.

Contrariwise, here are five turn-off’s you would want to avoid, IMO:

Twitter Turn-Off’s

(1) Boring – people really don’t want to hear about random and insignificant details in your life all the time. It’s okay to mention that once in a while, but don’t make that the substance of your stream.

(2) Critical – if a person is always sarcastic, critical, and on a rant, eventually the threshold of tolerance will wear out.  Ironically, that person becomes someone most folks become really critical of.  Don’t tire people out by being a jerk to others.

(3) Spam – while this does not happen as much on twitter as blogs, when your stream is a like a broken record making the same pitch, your “advertising” will have a negative impact, even if it is presented authentically.

(4) Lengthy – I know this sounds crazy (and I have been guilty of this in the past), but some tweeps quote a paragraph or make a statement that is 500 characters long instead of less than 140.  That’s not the point of Twitter!  Be succinct, precise, and pithy.  If what you have to say is longer than 140 characters, get a blog.

(5) Gossip – Don’t say on Twitter what you will not say to a person if you were standing in front of them. Not only is it wrong, it’s just plain stupid.  People will find out about it, and some have even lost their job because of it.

For those who are new to Twitter, those are my suggestions.  Whether you are serving others through links, engaging others with questions, encouraging others with comments and quotes, laughing with others through humor, or identifying with others through hobbies and events, just remember: don’t waste your tweets!  Don’t find yourself floating down the twitter stream of irrelevance 140 characters at a time, but make them count.

>> Got any other turn-on’s or turn-off’s you’d like to add?  Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Explore posts in the same categories: Twitter

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

20 Comments on “Don’t Waste Your Tweets”

  1. BrianD Says:

    Tim, I really appreciate your helpful post, and I think I would speak for a lot of other people. It’s great to have the reminder of how best to use this tool!

  2. Joe Kennedy Says:

    The rules of following and replying need to be clarified. I lament the Kutcherization of Twitter: lots of followers, while following virtually nobody. That’s not conversation. That’s not social media. It’s dictating down to the masses (usually something irrelevant or mundane at that). It’s arrogant and conceited.

  3. Rick Says:

    Too many “I” tweets are quite the turn off… if “I” has become the most used vowel in your stream, you’re sure to be ignored.

  4. Owen Says:

    I have a really hard time with Twitter (although I am trying to use it) because to me constantly updating the world on my thoughts and actions seems so narcissistic. To me that is what the vast majority of Twitter has become, people with lots of followers who are following no one but feel compelled to let everyone know what they are up to.

    I don’t know — maybe I just dont get it.

  5. Kevin Says:

    I’m new to twitter and some of the things that kept me from it in the first place where in your ‘turn-offs’ section. These are timely suggestions. Thanks

  6. Shawn Says:

    Nice! Can you help me with comments? Something like “Don’t Waste You Comments”! Good advice Tim.

  7. Matt Says:

    A turn-off for me is people who feel the need to tweet constantly. If you tweet every few minutes, it’s way too much information, and I stop following you.


  8. the Turn offs reminded me why I have not yet made the jump to twitter.


  9. Turn-On would also be gossip tweets, by that, celebrity gossip. At one time or another, people WILL read and discuss the latest “thing” a celebrity has done.

    I agree about the spam, as I was tweeting abt that today, regarding artists who spam people with their music. There’s nothing wrong with a shameless plug…but not with every tweet!

    Great turn ons/offs…


  10. Ahhh how could I forget the breaking news tweets. DEFINITE turn-ON! @breakingnews has been a plethora of information, especially about the swine flu!!!

  11. Kevin Says:

    Here’s where I don’t quite “follow”:

    With the increasing number of Twitter users, why is it so important that I stand out?

    Am I really wasting my time on Twitter if I don’t keep my readers excited and interested? Does tweeting mean an obligation to entertain an ever-increasing crowd of disciples? If that’s what Twitter is all about, I’m not interested. Seems awfully self-centered.

  12. Andre R Says:

    Appreciate this wonderful and insightful post. IMO, no matter what the turn-ons and turn offs are… Twitter, at this point in my life, is keeping me sane. I bet many will agree with me.

  13. Debbie Kaufman Says:

    Kevin: I tend to agree with you on this which is why I belong to Twitter but don’t use it a lot. Too many rules to follow that cater to the followers and so called rules. I am not much on catering to others demands so that kind of rules me out. 🙂


  14. […] More HERE. Get More Wiki-Counseling on […]


  15. Like if someone were to tweet a play by play of the bulls game? haha


  16. […] Waste Your Tweets” by Timmy Brister Jump to Comments Over at Timmy Brister’s blog you can read more about how to use Twitter and to do it for the Glory of God and the edification of […]


  17. […] at Timmy Brister’s blog you can read more about how to use Twitter and to do it for the Glory of God and the edification of […]


  18. […] Twitter Is Not Real * Twitter – The New Traffic Generator * Twitter for the Local Church * Don’t Waste Your Tweets * Why I Use Twitter Share this:PrintEmailTwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]


Leave a Reply

