Best iPhone Apps for 2009 – Results from Twitter

This afternoon, I asked iPhone users on Twitter (who follow me) what were their favorite apps for 2009.  There are several here that I had never heard of that I will need to check out.  The ones with parenthesis received multiple responses.  Here they are, organized according to functionality:

Pandora (4)
Twitterific (2)
Tweetie (2)
Tweetdeck
TwitterFon
Echofon
Logos (2)
Grace to You (2)
Bible
ESV Study Bible
Reformation Study Bible
Pocketbible
Olive Tree NKJV
Olive Bible Reader
Red Laser (2)
Things (2)
Dropbox (2)
Remember the Milk
Evernote
Instapaper
ToDo
ActionMethod
iDisk
BestCam (2)
PhotoShop Mobile
UrbanSpoon
AroundMe
MapQuest
Facebook (3)
Google Reader
Navigation GPS
Perfectlyclr
Fex
Flixster
Sportacular
Birdhouse
Tilt Shift Gen
GeoDefense Swarm
Robocalypse
Tetris
Scrabble 2
Rimshot!
Ecophone
Google Voice Search
Touchpad
MapMyRun
PDFReader
Craigsphone
Pidposterous
Bamcuser
Cycorder
SBsettings
Intelliscreen
ESPN Scorecenter
USA Today
Amazon
Jott
Satchel
Weatherbog
LuxDLX

I know that I asked folks for their top three, but I am going to take some liberty to give an extended list of my favorites accordingly:

Favorite Twitter apps:
1.  Tweetdeck (still crashes often & has short timeline)
2.  Tweetie 2 (buggy, has best overall features, long load time)
3.  Twitterific (haven’t used it in a long time)

Favorite Photo apps:
1.  Camera Bag (love the presets, esp. Lomo and Holga)
2.  Best Camera (very easy to use editing)
3.  Photogene (if you have the time, best iPhone photo app, lots of tweekage)
4.  NoiseBlaster (necessary for poor iPhone camera performance)
5.  Polarize (simple, fun app, add subtitles)
6.  QuadCamera (take multiple shots & formats them for you – fun)
7.  ColorSplash (select desaturation tool, unique app)
8.  Genius (zoom, camera shake, timer tools makes this a nice app)
9.  Pano (photostiching multiple photos for panoramic images)
10. PS Mobile (honestly haven’t played with this one much)

Favorite Bible/Theology apps:
1.  Olive Tree ESV Bible
2.  Logos
3.  Greek Flash & Greek Grams (2 apps for reviewing koine Greek)
4.  Reformation Study Bible
5.  Mars Hill

Favorite General apps:
1.  Pandora (internet radio at its best)
2.  Facebook (getting better by the day)
3.  MapMyRun (GPS+exercise metrics+online syncing = sweetness)
4.  Dropbox
5.  Amazon
6.  Measures (conversion of just about anything you could imagine)
7.  Dragon Dictation
8.  Red Laser
9. Shazam
10.  EverNote

Favorite Travel apps:
1.  Where to? (amazing app IMO, really helpful, use often)
2.  UrbanSpoon (the best restaurant/food finder app around)
3.  Maps (where would I be without this app no one knows!)
4.  HotelsByMe (self-explanatory)
5.  Weather Channel (love the map and multiple locations)

There you go. Obviously, there are a ton of apps I do not have or am not familiar with, so what am I missing?  What apps have been most beneficial to you (and why)?

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellanies, Twitter

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “Best iPhone Apps for 2009 – Results from Twitter”

  1. Frank Turk Says:

    Does it have to be ‘useful’? What if it only keeps you from being bored to death on an airplane full of people who only speak french?

  2. Bobby Gilles Says:

    IExpenseit. If you’re keeping track of a ministry budget and a household budget, you’ll love this thing. You can even take pictures of receipts. And it generates several charts and graphs ad well.

    It’s a snap to send a full report to yourself, your CFO or accounting dept, etc. In fact, it’s a snap to do everything. It really does take the hassle out of running a budget.

  3. bcripps Says:

    Twittelator
    Evernote
    Olive Tree ESV Study Bible/GNT/BHS
    Dragon Dictation
    Pandora
    wikipanion
    Kindle
    Shazam
    NYTimes
    Sportacular
    Knot Guide
    Skype
    Paper Toss
    iSniper3D

  4. Brian Daugherty Says:

    I’m late to the party, but here’s my list of best iphone apps:

    YouVersion
    ESPN ScoreCenter
    Slacker Radio
    ooTunes
    Kindle
    iHeart Radio (to listen to the Cats)
    Guardian
    ESV Study Bible
    Public Radio
    ORBITAL
    Fandango
    Light
    Classic FM
    Fuzzle
    Peggle
    Madden 10
    FIFA 10

  5. Pregador27 Says:

    Hey Timmy,
    I love this list! My top Bible/Theology Apps match yours almost exactly. I have not bought the Reformation Study Bible though. The Live.tv Bible app would be in there for me. Olive Tree ESV Study Bible is the best and only gets better with each update. I love the Greek Grams & Greek Flash- they really did help with Greek I and Mounce’s text. That was a tough class. I need to really study before Greek II in mid-January.

    As for a time killer: Madden 2010 and TweetDeck and IM+. Also, I keep up with your blog with GReaderApp (Google Reader). I use Google’s search app with voice search- I have found it to be much more accurate than Bing. (Did they name Bing after Bing Crosby?)

    Okay, since my ADD is kicking in I will list my favorite included apps: Maps, YouTube and Voice Memos (though it seems to cut off about 32 minutes into my messages).

    Have a wonderful Christmas everyone.

  6. Bobby Gilles Says:

    Oops – yeah, I meant iXpenseIt. Haven’t tried Mint myself, but I wasn’t that impressed based on what I heard and read about it.

  7. Frank Gantz Says:

    Tim, I have ditched Tweetdeck for Hootsuite. Much better.

  8. Chris Bonts Says:

    1) Smart Card plus (oobgolf) – Amazing. I no longer keep a paper card when I play.
    2) Twittelator
    3) AP Mobile (nreaking news updates)
    4) Dictionary.com app
    5) RedLaser (saved 5 times the cost of the app on my first purchase)
    6) Consumer Reports
    7) NY Times
    8)ToDo
    9)Flashlight (amazing how many times I have used this one)


Leave a Reply

